News

You are here

September 29, 2016

The American Conference of Cantors mourns the passing of the great Israeli statesman and peace advocate, Shimon Peres.

"I was honored to have met Mr. Peres on a few occasions and am deeply saddened by his death," said ACC President Cantor Steven Weiss. "He was a true statesman and peacemaker who was a living history of modern Israel. His

READ MORE
September 26, 2016

This past January, Prime Minister Netanyahu made a commitment to the entire Jewish people. His government passed a resolution that included all forms of Jewish worship at the Western Wall, with detailed plans to build an egalitarian prayer space, administered by a pluralistic group including our rabbis. For the first time in the history of the

READ MORE
August 23, 2016

by Cantor Amanda Kleinman

"We HAVE Overcome"

So read the sign held up by a young man at a rally celebrating the election of Barack Obama as president in 2008: "We have overcome," a play on the song that became the anthem of the Civil Rights movement over fifty years ago. And we have overcome a great deal

READ MORE
August 23, 2016

Fall Semester:

Boi Kallah - Unlocking the Mysteries of Kabbalat Shabbat 
starting Tuesday, September 13, 12 weeks (Break over October)
Tuesdays: 9 am Pacific/12 pm Eastern/5 pm England/ 7 pm Israel

As a Kabbalistic ceremony developed in 16th century Tzfat, Kabbalat Shabbat took the Jewish world by a storm to become one

READ MORE
July 29, 2016

SCHAUMBURG, IL (July 29, 2016): The American Conference of Cantors (ACC), a non-profit organization dedicated to the professional growth and development of cantors in the Reform Movement, is pleased to announce a host of new additions and changes.

Rachel Roth, who served as ACC Managing Director since 2007, was recently promoted to Chief

READ MORE